Omipidan, Rasheed, Alimi, Irekandu, Others To Bag 2023 Osun Digital Media Awards

Mr Ismail Omipidan, Oluomo Kolapo Alimi, Mallam Olawale Rasheed, Hon. Adewumi Adeyemi Irekandu, others to receive award of excellence at the Maiden Edition of the Osun Digital Award Week.

This 5-day Osun Digital week, organized by the Osun Online Publishers Association, (OOPA), kickstart on Monday, December 18th to 22nd December, 2023.

Full details of press briefing below unedited;

Press briefing for the take-off of Osun Online Publishers Association (OOPA) Digital Media Week 2023 being read by chairman planning committee, Muktar Ajelogbon on Monday, December 18, 2023


All thanks to God almighty for making today a reality, on behalf of the planning committee, I bring to the notice of the general populace in Osun State that Osun Online Publishers Association (OOPA) is starting her maiden 5-day Osun Digital Media Week 2023 today with the theme “Digital Media and Climate Change; The Nexus”.

This week-long activities is not only to celebrate ourselves and worthy individuals in Osun, it’s also to interrogate a very crucial issue that’s affecting the world including Osun State – the climate change.

Part of the program to celebrate this year’s edition is the presentation of awards to individuals and corporate brands for their outstanding contributions to the development of our dear state.

Nominees for each category were carefully selected through a thorough analysis of their track records in their respective endeavors where the person/corporate brand with highest votes will receive the award on Wednesday 20th December 2023.
This, we believe, will encourage them to do more for the progress of Osun State.

We would like to state here that after the conclusion of the two weeks of money free online voting for thirteen different categories of awards which was a real reflection and decision of the public, winners have emerged and they have all been notified.

OTHER NEWS   JUST IN: Driver, female hawker die in Onitsha multiple crash

Winners of the Osun Digital Media Award 2023 include:

These are the winners of each category

1. Osun Corporate Brand of the year : Art Deco

2. Osun Philanthropist of the year : Engr. Raji Kehinde Aaraj

3. Osun activist of the year : Comrade Waheed Saka MAO

4. Osun Commissioner of the year : Oluomo Kolapo Alimi

5. Osun special adviser of the year : Hon Odelade Olanrewaju Sarafa

6. Osun Assembly Member of the year : Hon. Adewumi Adeyemi Irekandu

7. Osun local government chairman of the year (central) : Hon. Sharafadeen Abiodun Awotunde – Ifelodun LG (ALGON Chairman)

8. Osun local government chairman of the year (East) Hon. Wahab Collins Olabode Arewa – Ilesa West Central LCDA

9. Osun local government chairman of the year (West): Hon. Lukman Afolabi

10. Osun permanent secretary of the year : Bashir I. Bello (Engr)

11. Osun house of representatives member of the year : Hon. Bamidele Salam

12. Osun Senator of the year : Senator Oyewumi Olalere

13. Osun media aide of the year : Sarafa Ibrahim

14. Osun Private/Public university of the year : Fountain University, Osogbo

15. Osun private/public polytechnic of the year : Osun State Polytechnic, Iree

Special award tagged “OOPA Man of Valour” has also been designed to appreciate some distinguished citizens of Osun who have served/serving our dear state with outstanding track records, their contributions to OOPA and humanity at large.

Those who fall under that category are;

1) Mr Ismail Omipidan
2) Mallam Olawale Rasheed
3) Mr Sola Fasure
4) Comrade Waheed Lawal
5) Mr Lani Baderinwa

Award of commendation for news medium within OOPA who have professionally performed excellently well in four different categories will also be honoured as;

OTHER NEWS   Black Panther Chadwick Boseman wins Posthumous Award

1) Osun Best Online News Platform of the year
2) Osun Best Online Investigative Reporting Platform of the year
3) Osun Best Online Community Impact Reporting Platform of the year
4) Osun Best Online Social Media Platform of the year.

As part of our corporate social responsibility, we shall also reach out to Orphanages Home in Osogbo to donate some needed items and cash. Sensitization on indiscriminate dumping of refuse on water ways would be taken to two markets while four waste bins will be donated to Oluode and Alekuwodo markets in Osogbo.

Breakdown of the 5-day Osun digital media Week 2023 are:

Day 1: Immediately after this press briefing members of this association will be moving to FOMWAN Orphanages Home,Osogbo to distribute food items and cash while sensitization on indiscriminate dumping of refuse on waterways would be taken to Oluode and Alekuwodo markets as part of our corporate social responsibility program.

Day 2: OOPA Members will have a day with our Patron, His Royal Highness, Oba Hammed Adekunle Makama (CON) and Our Matron, Otunba Titi Tomori-Ponnle former Deputy Governor of Osun State where they will be officially decorated.

Day 3: Public lecture and award presentation will hold at Ben-Ber Hall beside Reginal Suite, Ring Road, Osogbo

Day 4: Refresher course for OOPA members to know more about “Conflict and Crisis reporting”

Day 5: OOPA Members will visit the tourism centre in Osun State for fun to round off this year’s Osun Digital Media Week.

We thank individuals, corporate bodies, organizations and the government of Osun for their support for the association over the years as OOPA will continue to play it’s role as the Fourth Estate of the Realm with credibility and professionalism.

Thank you for listening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *