New List of Lagos Commissioner Nominees Presented to Assembly


Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has bowed to the desire of the Lagos State Assembly over the rejection of 17 cabinet nominees.

The Governor has represented a new list that “includes a balanced selection”.

“I have decided to represent a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals.’ the Governor stated in a letter to the House of Assembly with Mudashiru Obase as Speaker.

“This list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds reflective of the rich diversity of our lovely state,” Sanwo-Olu added in the move that is expected to bring to an end the faceoff that resulted in the Lagos Assembly raising the alarm of alleged threats of physical harm against members.

The Assembly rejected 17 names out of 39 initially sent by the Governor over the need for proper balancing that caters to all zones and the unofficial rule of contributions to the political might of the ruling All Progressives Congress in Lagos SocietyNow.Ng learned.

CLICK FOR DETAILS  Sanwo-Olu, police team leader exchange words, gov plans meeting –Magodo protest

After days of “cold war” and intervention by the highest decision-making body of the Lagos APC – Government Advisory Council (GAC), the Governor has backed down and represented a cabinet list populated with new names.

The names were presented to Lagos House of Assembly with a cover letter with the header, ‘Forwarding of Official List of Nominees for Appointment as Commissioners and Special Advisers’.

The letter thanked the Obase-led legislative body for “diligence and commitment in relation to the recent screening and confirmation of 22 nominees.” and advocated that “the new nominees would bring fresh ideas that would help the growth and progress of Lagos” in urging the House to clear them according to information available to VAM.

CLICK FOR DETAILS  Updated: Ondo govt begins process of 33 LCDAs

Added revelation has it that the screening will start on Tuesday, September 5, 2023, and Speaker Obasa has mandated a committee led by Hon. Fatai Mojeed to ensure a thorough screening process and report to the House on Thursday.

The names on the represented list are;

Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen
Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi
Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi
Engr. Olalere Odusote
Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola
Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem
Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe
Mr. Samuel Egube
Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu
Mrs. Bolaji Cecelia Dada
Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare
Mr. Olugbenga Omotoso
Mr. Mosopefolu George
Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje
Dr. Olumide Oluyinka
Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi
Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola
Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa.

CLICK FOR DETAILS  UNIZIK Student Jubilates as she graduates with third class

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *