Tinubu beats Osinbajo, Amaechi, others to win 2023 APC presidential ticket

Bola Tinubu, former governor of Lagos state, has won the presidential primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with 1271 votes from delegates.

Rotimi Amaechi, former minister of transportation and top contender, polled 316 votes while Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo got 235 votes.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan, the ”consensus candidate” of Abdullahi Adamu, APC national chairman, polled 152 votes.

Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich and Tunde Bakare got zero vote; Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba got one vote; David Umahi polled 38 votes; Ogbonnaya Onu got one vote; Yahaya Bello polled 47 votes, and Ben Ayade got 37 votes.

The former governor of Lagos will fly the party’s flag in the 2023 presidential election.

Tinubu won the ticket despite stiff opposition.

OTHER NEWS   'Tinubu Gave Us Money' - Rev. Danjuma Byang

The special convention of the ruling party kicked off on Tuesday, and will end today.

The primary election was steeped in controversy as the APC national chairman announced Lawan as the consensus presidential candidate.

But the national working committee (NWC) of the party distanced itself from Adamu’s position and aligned with the decision of the northern APC governors who resolved for power shift to the south.

Tinubu will be squaring off against Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Peter Obi of Labour Party, and other candidates in the 2023 presidential election. CONTINUE READING….

OTHER NEWS   Ondo 2024: Aiyedatiwa speaks on partisan politics, sends message to civil servants

Do you have any information you wish to share with us? Do you want us to cover your event or programme? For Adverts or report call/WhatsApp us on +2348072633727

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *